Montana Highway Patrol commissions nine new troopers

Department of Justice

Montana Attorney General’s Office sent this bulletin at 09/29/2023 02:30 PM MDT

Highway Patrol commissions nine new troopers HELENA – The Montana Highway Patrol (MHP) commissioned nine new troopers at a graduation ceremony held today at the Civic Center in Helena, September 29, 2023. Colonel Steve Lavin addressed the new troopers prior to their badge pinning and taking the oath of office. “This is a great state to be in law enforcement, and we’re grateful to have these new troopers join us at the Montana Department of Justice,” Attorney General Austin Knudsen said. “They’ve made a brave and honorable decision to help keep us safe on the highways and in our communities.” “I’m proud to have these individuals serving and protecting Montana.  They have worked tirelessly to become part of our agency and will serve their community with pride,” Colonel Lavin said. The nine new troopers went through a rigorous training schedule over the past 24 weeks. They came from as far away as California, Texas and Virginia.  Three of them are from Montana. 

 Initial Duty Station / Hometown
Brandon Coleman                                                   Big Timber / Bend, Oregon
Sheridan Crutcher                                                   Ronan / Alturas, California
Nicholas Derene                                                     Bozeman / Madison, Wisconsin
Adam Hoover                                                          Anaconda / Roanoke, Virginia
Matthew Meidl                                                         Superior / Spokane, Washington
George Nassour                                                      Anaconda / Austin, Texas
Philip Rhodes                                                          Bozeman / Kalispell, Montana
Zoey Streber                                                            Deer Lodge / Lewistown, Montana
Ryne Tyler                                                                Shelby / Chester, Montana   Montana Highway Patrol
PICTURED LEFT TO RIGHT: First Row: Sheridan Crutcher, George Nassour, Zoey Streber, and Brandon Coleman; Back Row: Lieutenant Colonel Kurt Sager, Nicholas Derene, Matthew Meidl, Adam Hoover, Ryne Tyler, Philip Rhodes, and Colonel Steve Lavin


More From Author